About Us

Algonquins of Greater Golden Lake First Nation

Connie Mielke, ANR/Chief, Democratically elected in July 2017.

Representing people of Algonquin heritage living throughout our unceded Algonquin Territory and beyond.


In 1993 our community was called Kichissippi South. The following year our community was taken over by Patrick Glassford and was renamed “Algonquins of Greater Golden Lake First Nation”.  He ran the community until the community elections of 2017 when he lost to the present ANR/CHIEF Connie Mielke.

We are a Non-Status Algonquin First Nation Community comprised mainly of members from the Pembroke and Petawawa area and the surrounding Ottawa Valley.  We have 3000+ members who span across all of Canada as well as some in the USA and Europe.

We are one of the ten communities located across the settlement territory that make up the Algonquins of Ontario (AOO).  The ten communities who are part of the Algonquin Land Claim are comprised of Pikwakanagan First Nation, Antoine, Kijicho Manito Madaouskarini (Bancroft), Bonnechere, Greater Golden Lake, Mattawa/North Bay, Ottawa, Shabot Obaadjiwan (Sharbot Lake), Snimikobi (Ardoch) and Whitney and Area.

In 2016 the Agreement in Principle (AlP) was signed allowing the Land Claim to proceed. We are now working on the beneficiary criteria that will define who will be beneficiaries of the Algonquin Land Claim.

If you have questions, please feel free to use the link below to Contact Us.

If you would like to become a members of our community, please submit our  Enrollment Application Form

Printable – Enrollment Form April 2020

Fill-able – AOO_Enrolment_Application_August2020_FILL

Please note this is the only enrollment form we will accept going forward, if you have a previous version DO NOT use it.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close